A Post About Posts

Hello all!

This week’s post is less of a post post and more of a post about posts, a post-ception if you will.

I’ve been pondering whether or not to continue with this blog. I’ve been super busy and haven’t been able to give this blog the attention it really deserves. But the truth is I really love writing this and I’m not ready to let it fall by the wayside just yet.

Plus, there are a few series (like the “By Numbers” series) that have more films forthcoming in their respective sequences and I hate to leave them unfinished.

The entries I REALLY enjoyed writing usually involved quite a bit of research (because grad school damaged my brain and I guess I really like doing research) so I definitely want to do more of those. But since those take longer to write, be prepared for some fluffy list-icles in between such things. I also would love to do a long journey through Steven Spielberg’s entire filmography because he’s my favorite director and he deserves tons of love for his frankly bizarre and expansive film career.

Also, I don’t think I’m going to do many reviews anymore. *Gasp* you say. The truth of the matter is, reviews aren’t as fun to write. Plus, most of my reviews are me gushing about how great said film is and that gets a bit repetitive (because I have really low standards when it comes to movies). So, what I’m going to do is add a mini feature to the ends of regular posts that give my opinions on any movies I’ve seen. If it’s a big deal, I’ll do a full review, but I’ll try to cut down on the repetitive “This movie is so good and you need to see it!” type posts.

Now, I do have some ideas for future posts. I’d love to do more posts looking at film scores and some brief biographies of the big film studios of the day as well as a few posts about the history of filmmaking in general. I also really want to do a whole lot more Disney, Star Wars, and Dumb Action Movie stuff because I love all of those things.

I am also open to suggestions, of course. Terrible movies you think everyone needs to know about? Actors you think are crazy underrated? Film composers who have changed your life?  Film series you’d love to see explored? Hit me up and I’ll add it to my to do list.

I guess by now you’ve figured out that I’m writing this mostly because I ran out of time this week to do a post. But fret not. I’m not going anywhere. I don’t know how many people actually read this (and it’s not that big a deal) but this blog is a wonderful outlet and even if I’m just screaming into the void, it’s nice to write.

Even when what I’m writing is a thin disguise for the fact that I didn’t actually write anything…

I swear next week’s post will actually be a good one (spoiler alert: it might contain Shakespeare).

Ciao for now!

 

Leave a Reply

