Huggable Robots and Puppies (A Review of Big Hero 6)

It’s been a million years since I last posted. But I am alive. I promise.

First, before I say anything about Big Hero 6, let me just say that the short film that preceded it, “Feast,” may very well be better than the movie. I mean it. I was wiping away tears and hoping no one else in the theater had noticed me. I may have even heard a sniffle or two from the audience. It’s absolutely beautiful. I won’t say anything, but I will say it has food and puppies. Bring a tissue.

If you can look at this and not die of cuteness overload, you may be able to get though watching “Feast” without crying.

Ok, on to the movie!

Good Movie Rating: 8/10
Fun Movie Rating: 9/10

Big Hero 6 tells the story of a young boy named Hiro (voiced by relative newcomer Ryan Potter) and his inflatable robot, Baymax (Scott Adsit), who team up with a group of awkward geniuses to defeat a masked villain who has evil things planned. Throw in some teenage angst and robot-related hijinks and you’ve got yourself a fun family movie that’s guaranteed to get some laughs and, maybe, a few tears here and there.

Everyone going in to this movie is going because Baymax is hilarious (and he is). He pretty much steals the whole show. There’s one scene where everyone in the audience kept giggling and all Baymax was doing was walking in a straight line, saying nothing. The character is brilliantly animated and voiced to a T by 30 Rock‘s Scott Adsit. The rest of the cast is fantastic and the story has some really touching and well done sequences that don’t rely on how loveable and hilarious Baymax is, but I think it’s safe to say that he makes the movie. Move over, Olaf. Every kid is now going to want a million Baymax plushies.

This is from the trailer, so it’s not spoilery.

The supporting characters (4 of the 6 that make up the eponymous group) are delightful. I wish they could have gotten more screen time, because they’re a fun group. Be sure you stay after the credits for an extra scene involving one of them. Hiro’s aunt (brought to effervescent life by Maya Rudolph) is absolutely charming and, sadly, underused. I really wish this was a TV series so we’d get to spend more time with all these fabulous people. This is definitely a movie I’d love to see spawn a smattering of beautifully done sequels (a la Toy Story). Maybe I’m just being greedy…

The setting is another thing that really sets this movie apart from others. It’s set in the mashup city of San Fransokyo, which means you get a Japanese-inspired Golden Gate Bridge, blossoming cherry trees on every street corner, and trolly cars trundling across the streets while sleek bullet trains zoom about overhead. It’s a beautiful, colorful setting that looks so so real and vibrant that you really want to go visit it.

Concept art!

My only real criticism was of the finale, which seemed a bit rushed. In terms of the plotting of the climax, it’s sort of a mashup of The Avengers and Guardians of the Galaxy. It’s good, don’t get me wrong, but I found it a bit predictable. Still, it is satisfying. I just wanted more.

Overall, it’s a lot of fun. Little kids may be a bit put off by some of the darker elements in the story (it’s definitely darker and/or more intense in places than Frozen or Wreck-It Ralph), but there’s enough humor to keep things light.

Go see it. Enjoy it. Wish you had your own Baymax to cuddle with.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

